Toccata – from Suite Gothique


Composer:  Léon Boëllmann

Arranger:  Rick Holdsworth

Octaves Handbell: 5 – 7

Octaves Handchimes: n/a

Level: 4



Suite Gothique, Op. 25, is perhaps one of the best-known suites for organ by French composer and organist, Léon Boëllmann. It was written in 1895, and Toccata is the fourth and final movement of that suite. Rick has faithfully transcribed this for handbells and appropriately placed techniques provide effective accents which convey the spirit and excitement of this work. Ringers will be busy throughout, from the 16-th note accompaniment in the 6’s to the Rung melody in the 3’s and 4’, and inner-voice accompaniment in the 4’s and 5’s. A variety of dynamics and even a touch of occasional syncopation will ensure this work keeps the audience fully engaged throughout as it moves through a variety of iterations to the dynamic ending.


Toccata 20662 web


Click here to view/listen to this selection on our YouTube channel


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.