Composer: Caleb J. Onstead

Octaves Handbell: 5 – 7

Octaves Handchimes: 5 – 7

Alternate bells: 6 pitches ~ Silver Melody Bells recommended


No. 1 ~ Fanfare: Level 4
No. 2 ~ Aria: Level 3+
No. 3 ~ Finale: Level 5




Trinity was the 1st Place Winner for the 2019 Houston Bronze Ensemble’s 30th Anniversary Composition Contest and is  comprised of three movements. Each of the three has a direct connection and theme corresponding to an element of Houston Bronze history.

Fanfare ~ Celebration:  This movement solely represents 30 years of making music together as an ensemble and is pure celebration of that fact and begins very simply with the melody being played over singing bells in the bass. The melody then moves to the bass and is later fully scored as it moves through a series of keys as the melody is played in all registers (bass, battery, treble).


Aria ~ Contemplation:    This piece actually started as a solo piano sheet coming from a series of compositions written that were based on pastel colors. Caleb expanded it for bells as it fit very well musically and thematically. Written in F Lydian, this piece has a very warm, open, celestial kind of sound. Use of silver melody bells and chimes accentuate all of the ethereal qualities of the piece. This movement provides a moment of reflection for everything that the ensemble has accomplished in the past.


Finale ~ Progression:   With themes of musical excellence and growth in the ensemble, there is an exciting future for Houston Bronze. Beginning with one final moment of reflection, the piece then explodes at a vivace tempo in mixed meters of 3/4 and 6/8 and introduces a new theme in C Major. This is also the cohesive movement, as themes and fragments from the first two movements are woven around the original material for the third.


Trinity Comb 20621comb web

Additional information


No. 1 ~ Fanfare ~ Celebration, No. 2 ~ Aria ~ Contemplation, No. 3 ~ Finale ~ Progression, Combined Score ~ 20621


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.